Trying a New Lifestyle

It has been a long time since I have posted anything here.  The main reason for that is our choice to give Workamping a try.  We have been a little busy and preoccupied.

images

Workamping is a lifestyle that many full-time RVrs embrace.  RV resorts and parks join into a “contract” to provide (for the most part) a place to stay, utilities, WIFI etc., in exchange for work done by the campers.  imgres

Our first stab at it was in March of 2015 (about when I stopped posting here).  We entered into an agreement to provide “some” weeding and maintaining of flower beds.  What a deal!  I do miss my sticks and bricks yard and my flowers.  The resort we were going to was close to the home city we retired from…able to see friends and family.  Well, low and behold, the amount of work needed at this resort was beyond “some”as it had been described to us.  It had not been maintained for 3 years!  Back breaking work to say the least.  That gig was a 3 month deal with the option to stay an additional 3 months and yes, we definitely left at the end of that 3rd month.

We are now finishing up a 6 month job at another resort which we stayed at last winter. Not back breaking at all.  But it does have it’s issue’s, as I assume most places do.  More along the lines of drama and personalities.

After much thought, I have come to realize that it is just not for us.  I guess I am too old for the back breaking work that parks expect out of people like us (in our 50’s).  And I know I am too old for all the drama!

Don’t get me wrong, a LOT of people do this and love it.  I think that is great…it is just not our thing at this time in our lives.

Someday in the future we may try it again, but for now we will finish this job up at the end of March and will be moving on to keep moving on.  Places to go and things to do!

image

 

5 thoughts on “Trying a New Lifestyle

  1. Nice to hear your update. We’ve look at numerous workamp options and we just don’t think it’s worth injuring ourselves. Have fun with those wheels rolling!

Leave a Reply

